Yesterday was my last day of the semester!  I’m no longer a sophomore in college.  I’m finished my semester of study abroad.  I’m on summer vacation.

While all of those things are true, they don’t really feel true in my life at this moment.  Because of the nature of this semester and the fact that nothing has looked at all like any of my other semesters, it’s no surprise that the end doesn’t feel the same either.  Most of my lovely USAC friends are flying home to their respective states tonight while I travel south with Kaelin for a long weekend.  Part of my feels like I should be going with them.  Part of me feels like I really just live here and will remain in Santiago for eons — like it’s where I belong.  My brain is quite confused.

I’m not sure that I’m ready to return to the United States.  It’s not that I don’t want to — I certainly miss my family and friends and cat and parents’ cooking and driving and all.  It’s just that the more I think about it, the more I’m realizing that this part of my life will never be fully explicable to people who didn’t experience it with me.  Which makes me already miss the people I met here.  However, with that knowledge comes a little bit of peace:  I know that I can’t explain some things, so I know that I shouldn’t expect people to understand.  Which is okay.  Because either way, these months have shaped my perspective in ways that I didn’t ask for and couldn’t have imagined.  Which is pretty cool.

Now I’m off to catch a bus to Puerto Varas.  Tomorrow I will meet a pudu.  Google it.  You won’t regret it.

 

Peace and Blessings x

(From Santiago de Chile)

One thought on “Study Abroad: Check

  1. You hit the nail on the head – one of the reasons i would prefer not to travel alone – it’s nice to be able to share experiences. However, your situation is different with school and all. Embrace all the emotions, relationships, families, and friends. They are all part of your life now; Yah has prepared you for a special purpose!

    Like

Leave a Reply

